Monday, June 29, 2015

reads: june 2015



one | The Witness by Nora Roberts



four | New York to Dallas (In Death #33) by J.D. Robb

five | Fantasy in Death (In Death #30) by J.D. Robb

six | Thankless in Death (In Death #37) by J.D. Robb

breakdown

1 non-fiction (memoir/humor)

1 young adult (horror)

4 adult
  1 contemporary romance
  3 thriller (mystery/futuristic)

Sunday, May 31, 2015

month.in.review: may 2015

3 memories

  • the writer's voice: i've connected with many fellow writers & read some amazing queries & opening paragraphs
  • outlining a new project: a romance novel! i'm excited to be working on something so different from my usual fantasy projects
  • playing a story of seasons: i love the harvest moon series so much! this edition had several new animals, like angora rabbits.
2 obsessions
1 looking forward to
  • traveling: the spousebot & I are off to the big island in a few weeks for new adventures!


Saturday, May 30, 2015

reads: may 2015





three | The Deal (Off-Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy 

breakdown

2 young adult
   1 contemporary 
   1 fantasy (contemporary)

1 na (contemporary romance)

Thursday, May 21, 2015

The Writer's Voice Entry: LUCK STRUCK

QUERY

LUCK STRUCK is a 71,000 word work of young adult fantasy with strong thriller and romance elements. It should appeal to readers of Julie Kagawa and Marie Lu.

Aurelio Vico wants two things: to redeem his family name and ignore the ghastly demons that haunt his visions. When the demons turn out to be real, and hungry, he resolves to do whatever it takes to stop them. He joins The Luckies, a secret society dedicated to protecting the city by hunting down the living nightmares known as Curses.

But demons aren’t always easy to spot, let alone kill. And when fighting Curses, even small mistakes have dire consequences. As the Curses close in on Aurelio’s family, he’ll need every drop of luck he has to save the ones he loves.

My works have been awarded twice by the Writer’s Digest Competition, with a fifth place in Children’s/YA and an honorable mention in Horror. I am an active member of SCBWI.



----

LUCK STRUCK



I watched the shadowy black hand settle on Otto's shoulder. It had too many fingers.

Unaware, Otto examined the game pieces in front of him. He scratched his chin, turning his head to study the board from different angles.

“Aurelio?” Adriana came up beside me. “What is it?”

“It’s nothing,” I turned my attention to her. “Just watching the games.”

Her gaze skimmed the room, glass beads sparkling in her coiled dark hair. Her skin, the color of tiger’s eye, seemed to glow in the light from the wall sconces.

“Adriana!” A girl called from one of the tables. “Come join us.”

Adriana gave me a quick smile before moving to join her friends. Around the room, cards flicked against tables, wooden pieces tapped against boards. Casting runes clattered into bowls while players argued over interpretations, the intent being to predict the most outlandish fortune.

The Galvani manor was always filled with house guests during the weeks surrounding the Firstlight holiday. Every guest room, den, and alcove seemed crammed with visitors.

My eyes went again to the ghostly arm that stretched from between Otto’s shoulder blades. The elbow bent to keep the palm resting on his shoulder. The claw-tipped fingers twitched and jerked against his jacket.

Cold sweat beaded on my brow. Ever since I’d seen my first shadow mark, as I thought of them, I’d learned not to tell anyone about them.

But the ones I’d seen before had been much smaller.




Wednesday, April 8, 2015

crafty: embroidery hoop pin cushion


I had a recent idea for an Xmas gift for my mum. It involves embroidery, which I haven't done in awhile. 

To get back into the swing of it, I started with a simple project for a new pincushion. I added a magnetic needle minder on top, which is great for keeping multiple needles threaded and on standby. Some foil inside helps sharpen needles. This project was also a great way to use some upcycled materials. 






Tuesday, March 31, 2015

reads: march 2015




one | Panic (Panic #1) by Lauren Oliver


three | Firefight (Reckoners #2) by Brandon Sanderson

breakdown

1 non-fic

ya: 2
   1 thriller
   1 science fiction 

Sunday, March 29, 2015

month.in.review: march 2015

3 memories

  • updating my home office: my workspace was in dire need of updating. (not to mention cleaning!)
  • buying girl scout cookies: the spousebot likes samoas. i'm all about the tag-a-longs!
  • visit to the garden center: my home office update included a couple of new plant friends. here's hoping they thrive!
2 obsessions
  • my word processor: i've been hemming & hawing over getting one for ages. i'm so glad i did! it's ideal if, like me, you lose focus and find yourself caving to perfectionism. mine is an alphasmart neo which i found via eBay (tip: search for one that comes with a cord for easy porting)
  • tycho: i love lyricless music for writing, especially ambient electronica. 
1 looking forward to


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...